Spotlight
Susan Krawitz
Krawitz
Susan Krawitz talks about her first novel.
read more >>

Common Core State Standards
I Like to Read Books
Holiday House eBooks

 



Buy the Book:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble
Amazon

How to Order

Read an Excerpt

Educators' Guide

 

Canary in the Coal Mine
by Madelyn Rosenberg

Trade Binding | 192 pages | 5 1/2 x 8 1/4 | US$ 16.95
ISBN: 9780823426003 | 04-15-2013

Also available as an ebook.

Grade: FIFTH | Age: 8 to 12

Themes: Animals/Fiction, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: A, K, LMC

CCSS Codes:
2: RL.3, 5
3: RL.4
4: RL.1, 3
5: RL.5, 6

About the Book

Bitty is a canary whose courage more than makes up for his diminutive size. Of course, as a bird who detects deadly gas leaks in a West Virginia coal mine during the Depression, he is used to facing danger. Tired of unsafe working conditions, he escapes and hops a coal train to the state capital to seek help in improving the plights of miners and their canaries. While there, Bitty manages to bring together two men: a state senator and the inventor of a machine that can replace canaries. But Bitty's return to Coal Hallow coincides with a shattering mining accident that affects humans and canaries alike.

In the tradition of E.B. White and George Selden, Madelyn Rosenberg has written an extraordinary novel starring unforgettable animals in an incredibly imaginative society.

THE REVIEWS ARE IN

"A relevant read-aloud for upper elementary or middle school, the book could spark discussion about the Depression, stereotypes, and labor unions. Bitty is a sweet character who will appeal to both boys and girls, and his story is adventurous enough to keep readers' interest."
—Recommended, Library Media Collection



Educators' Guide
CANARY IN THE COAL MINE
Educator's guide featuring classroom activities and suggestions for further exploration.