Spotlight
M. P. Barker
Barker Meet M. P. Barker, author of Mending Horses
read more >>

Common Core State Standards
I Like to Read Books
Holiday House eBooks

 



Buy the Book:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble
Amazon

How to Order

Educators' Guide

 

The Shadow Collector's Apprentice
by Amy Gordon

Trade Binding | 208 pages | 5 1/2 x 8 1/4 | US$ 16.95
ISBN: 9780823423590 | 02-01-2012

Grade: FIFTH | Age: 8 to 12

Themes: Family & Relationships, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction
Recommendations: A, BL, LMC, SLJ


About the Book
Fans of Polly Horvath and Kate DiCamillo will love this warm, eccentric, and enchanting middle-grade novel.

Peculiar things are going on in the town of Medley over the summer of 1963, but it's hard for twelve-year-old Cully Pennyacre to figure out what it all means. His father has mysteriously disappeared, people don't seem like themselves, and his apprenticeship at Batty's Attic antique store gets stranger each day.

The owner has a disturbing hobby of collecting people's shadows that he claims is harmless but that leaves his victims listless and passive. Odd happenings become the norm as Cully, Batty's granddaughter Isabel, and Cully's best friend band together to get to the bottom of a secret black market in human shadows.

THE REVIEWS ARE IN

"Filled with rustic charm and enough plot twists to keep readers engaged."—School Library Journal

"The family dynamics are beautifully interwoven, and the sense of place well rendered."—Booklist

"Young readers will relate to the main character; his life and concerns are similar to children of the same age."—Library Media Collection

For more of Amy Gordon's books, click here.

Check out Amy Gordon's website!

MIDDLE-GRADE FICTION

Educators' Guide
SHADOW COLLECTOR'S APPRENTICE, THE
Educators' Guide featuring questions for classroom discussion and suggestions for further exploration.